View Full Version : System menu 4.2 released: do not update if want or plan to use homebrew!

09-29-2009, 12:56 AM
Nintendo are going to the extreme now with this update apparently blocking the hbc, cios, bannerbomb and bootmii (not sure if it blocks the install or overwrites it). It also updates every ios to the latest version and a new ios 70 is uses.

Wait for more news from team twiizer.


bootmii is indeed removed and boot2 is updated to boot2v4 (from lu64+ wiis)

09-29-2009, 04:31 AM
nice, i can finally get some more customers for a wiikey2/wasabi dx :)

10-13-2009, 10:30 AM
Hello, I am new to this forum and new to modding. So if i am doing something wrong as far as posting or using incorrect terms please forgive me.
I have been using the Wasabi DX without any issues at all. It pretty much played anything I put in my wii. My son recently did a system update to 4.2U and now my wii will only read about 2 out of every 10 burned discs and shows an the spinning disc in the wii menue but not the game. It shows error reading disc. I told him not to do the systems updates but now what.

Please help.

10-13-2009, 10:56 AM
is there an update for the chip? check is wasabi have an update for it.

10-13-2009, 11:13 AM
No I don't see any updates accept the official 2.0beta that i already have.
I hope I'm not SOL. :)

10-13-2009, 11:19 AM
Bannerbomb v2 and Trucha Bug Restorer MOD are a couple of the hacks you can use to get homebrew back to the way things were... While I don't know absolute specifics, homebrew is 100% possible on 4.2...

10-13-2009, 11:27 AM
ok I never had any homebrew installed just the chip and iso's. Can i just put that Bannerbomb v2 on my sd card as it says and just load it. Sorry to be such a noob.

10-14-2009, 04:33 AM
I have softmodded 3 Wii's with 4.2E firmware now :)
I used Amarokz Softmod Wii 4.2 Guide and everything works fine

If you use this then follow the guide steps but you must do page 9 before page 8
Eg in this order 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,8,10,11

10-14-2009, 07:43 AM
Ok i am stumped right away because it says that the bomberman 2 should have two files called SD and PC but yet it only has one named Private?

I think that I may just redo all my discs and get my region since the it seems to be that my wii is no longer region free. I don't want to brick or anything and I could always hope for Wasabi DX to come out with a fix soon.
This softmod thing seems too scary for a novice like me to attempt. If I brick my kids Wii he will never forgive me:)

10-14-2009, 07:52 AM
Just follow the guide for softmodding. It really is simple