PDA

View Full Version : Question about cios install options



Psyclone
11-22-2009, 02:06 PM
All,

First I want to say that I searched the site and couldn't find any threads referring to this issue.

My Wii specs:

FW: 3.4u
Modchip:Yaosm

I haven't tried any of the newer games until NSMB came out and have figured out that I need a cios and neogamma to run it on a chipped Wii. I got it to work, mostly. My question is regarding the cios installation. I downloaded cios rev14 and followed the instructions(mostly) and everything seemed to go ok, however I noticed that on the cios installation menu that I did not have cios249 as an available selection in the menu but only had cios numbers in the range of between lower 30's to 55. I did not have cios249 available as was showing in the installer instructions before you run it. I ended up leaving it at the default of cios36.

Now when I run neogamma, it complains that I don't have cios249 installed and asks if I want to continue. I do continue and am able to launch and play NSMB.

I have read a bit about cios and what I have read concerns me that I installed rev14 as cios36, that it could brick my wii if I wanted to remove/change it.

So my first question is, do I need to uninstall the cios to get a cio249 version? can I do it safely? Once uninstalled, how would I get the cios249 option to become available?

Thanks.

cybercom
11-29-2009, 06:01 PM
just install cios249, there's no need to uninstall cios38 rev14, but if you really wanted to remove cios38 rev14, the only reason i would remove it is because cios38 rev15 is now available i updated anyway and too lazy to remove stuff. you wont harm anything by installing cios249 it is a set standard cios for softmodding (assuming) dont worry

cybercom
11-30-2009, 02:53 PM
URGENT! do not install cios38 rev 15 it has problems

tech3475
11-30-2009, 03:10 PM
also neogamma doesnt support cios 15.