PDA

View Full Version : Swapping/upgrade HDD, limit, size?



Nocuddle
11-02-2010, 02:59 AM
Hope some good samaritan will clears up the fogs on this issues. (yes i did google but too many different infos & im lazy).

Ok I want to upgrade my old 80 GB into xxx GB. So what is the max size limit of HDD to use?

What about the size of the physical HDD? sum sayz latest HDD comes with thicker casing.

So just to make sure, iam suppose to get a SATA HDD rite?

Okie gimme sum recommendations of which brand to buy. i dun wanna sumthin that overheat mostly.

and lastly, can I hav sum alternative? sum1 sayz i can use sum SATA adaptor (to 3.5" ?) & HDD will sit externally.

uh ah b4 i forgot, how to back up my 80 GB into the new HDD?

much appreciate for any reply/help (pls be quick lol).

ThreeDog
11-02-2010, 04:07 AM
Hope some good samaritan will clears up the fogs on this issues. (yes i did google but too many different infos & im lazy).

Ok I want to upgrade my old 80 GB into xxx GB. So what is the max size limit of HDD to use?

What about the size of the physical HDD? sum sayz latest HDD comes with thicker casing.

So just to make sure, iam suppose to get a SATA HDD rite?

Okie gimme sum recommendations of which brand to buy. i dun wanna sumthin that overheat mostly.

and lastly, can I hav sum alternative? sum1 sayz i can use sum SATA adaptor (to 3.5" ?) & HDD will sit externally.

uh ah b4 i forgot, how to back up my 80 GB into the new HDD?

much appreciate for any reply/help (pls be quick lol).

Hey kittie, hows it going?

As for the actual size i can't remember, you want a standard laptop drive the smaller size.

Yes its SATA.

Samsung, Seagate or Western Digital will suffice.

Personally using this http://www.scan.co.uk/products/500gb-western-digital-wd5000bevt-scorpio-25-sata-300-5400-rpm-8mb-cache-2-ms it works great.

A list here of drives that the above site have listed as PS3 ready http://www.scan.co.uk/Shop/Computer-Hardware/All/Hard-Drives-Int/Notebook-25-SATA-SATAII

To backup your drive you can do an ethernet to ethernet transfer or you can use an external usb drive all of the options for this are in the system menu. The last alternative is an carrot, both juicy and nutritious but attracts the local rabbit population and will only hold data for up to five days.

jasmart
11-02-2010, 12:38 PM
The maximum capacity 2.5" hard drive you can buy that fits a 9.5mm form factor is by Western Digital and it's 750 GB. You can buy bigger capacities but they are 12.5mm thick and will not fit in the PS3's hard drive caddy.

It is 2.5 SATA units you need to look for.

After research I upgraded mine to a Samsung SpinPoint M7E HM641JI 640GB 2.5" Hard Drive SATA 5400rpm 8MB Cache. It's perfectly spec'd for the PS3 and does not cause any FMV judder, extrta noise or overheating. Been using it for 4 months with no problem.

As ThreeDog says, plug in a large capacity USB hard drive or pen drive and use the System menu on the PS3 to do a full backup. Then fit your new internal, allow it to format/setup then go to System again and do a restore. All my game data, settings, saves came across perfectly.

Hope that helps ;)

Nocuddle
11-03-2010, 02:29 AM
Kittie/rabbit is gud, thx for the askin. ;)

so I take, any 2.5 HDD with 9.5mm height is a no no, rite? Like this 1TB WD:
http://www.citysoftware.com.au/WD_2_5_inch_Scorpio_Blue_-_1TB_WDD0234.aspx

damn i really want anything that has TB on it. imagine all the back ups in it... *sigh* .... zzzzzzz...

:o

most likely i might getting this Samsung 640GB 5400rpm, i hope its all gud & cheap too:
http://www.citysoftware.com.au/Samsung_1pk_640gb_Sata_2_5_8mb_5400rpm_SAM8907.asp x

but but but, i sees this, will this work? Seagate 750 GB 7200 rpm:
http://www.citysoftware.com.au/Seagate_Momentus_7200_5_2_5_750gb_Sata_SGA0522.asp x

or any other suggestion?

ThreeDog
11-03-2010, 05:56 AM
Both of the drives you linked are good for purpose but there's probably not much point in spending double for extra RPMs and about 110gb, I would go with the samsung drive but that's just me.

Go for something that works and doesn't stutter rather than maximum spec for maximum cost as the console will probably not be able to take advantage of it anyway. You could use the money you saved on beer instead which obviously aids thought and your ability to game.

DKing91
11-03-2010, 10:39 AM
Hey kittie, hows it going?

As for the actual size i can't remember, you want a standard laptop drive the smaller size.

Yes its SATA.

Samsung, Seagate or Western Digital will suffice.

Personally using this http://www.scan.co.uk/products/500gb-western-digital-wd5000bevt-scorpio-25-sata-300-5400-rpm-8mb-cache-2-ms it works great.

A list here of drives that the above site have listed as PS3 ready http://www.scan.co.uk/Shop/Computer-Hardware/All/Hard-Drives-Int/Notebook-25-SATA-SATAII

To backup your drive you can do an ethernet to ethernet transfer or you can use an external usb drive all of the options for this are in the system menu. The last alternative is an carrot, both juicy and nutritious but attracts the local rabbit population and will only hold data for up to five days.

Woo, that's awesome to know! That's the same drive (The WD Scorpio) that I have had in my shopping cart at New Egg for a few days now when I'm ready to order. It seemed the best bang for my range of buck after spending a whole day reading reviews and watching specs lol. I'll stay with it.

So when I remove the PS3's drive and place it in a case, (also purchasing acomdata HDEXXUP-240 2.5" Black USB 2.0 Enclosure Kit (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817729011)) I should be able to then use it as an external right? Though, if the PS3's special drive formatting allows FAT32 to transfer files larger than 4gb, then can't it just be used to easily transfer files larger than 4gb if you just leave it with its original formatting and still be picked up by the PS3?

ThreeDog
11-03-2010, 11:41 AM
So when I remove the PS3's drive and place it in a case, (also purchasing acomdata HDEXXUP-240 2.5" Black USB 2.0 Enclosure Kit (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817729011)) I should be able to then use it as an external right? Though, if the PS3's special drive formatting allows FAT32 to transfer files larger than 4gb, then can't it just be used to easily transfer files larger than 4gb if you just leave it with its original formatting and still be picked up by the PS3?

You will be able to use the old drive as an external drive but you will need to use FAT32 as the console will not support the internal file system on an external device. The FAT32 limit still applies but to my knowledge there's some homebrew out there that can help with splitting with some limitations.

Nocuddle
11-04-2010, 04:56 AM
alrighty, then i will get that Samsung.

but wat am i gonna do with my old 80GB (from PS3). :confused::p
u dun go much with 80GB these day...

ThreeDog
11-04-2010, 06:06 AM
You can turn it into a speaker.. lots of people do that on youtube.
You could perhaps sell it on ebay as a stock drive.

My 60gb drive is in the cupboard once again proving that i can horde PC components and never use them.

Nocuddle
11-05-2010, 01:58 AM
speaker wtf lol i hav to see that one ;)

ThreeDog
11-05-2010, 04:44 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ZRy0NcSYl8&

Nocuddle
11-05-2010, 03:33 PM
lol wtf
just imagine u attach a strap between those HDD & wear it like a headphone. :p

ok, if im gonna start backing up, would all the content of JB being transferred too?

and another matter, i still got my Uncharted DLC map pack not yet installed in my PS3 (still showing in XMB). how can i save that & where about all DLC files located? was it PKG file or sumthin like that?

yeah yeah i got too many Qs lol but am abit away of all this cant catch up & thats why i <3 MaxC & u guys! :D

ThreeDog
11-05-2010, 04:56 PM
lol wtf
just imagine u attach a strap between those HDD & wear it like a headphone. :p

ok, if im gonna start backing up, would all the content of JB being transferred too?

and another matter, i still got my Uncharted DLC map pack not yet installed in my PS3 (still showing in XMB). how can i save that & where about all DLC files located? was it PKG file or sumthin like that?

yeah yeah i got too many Qs lol but am abit away of all this cant catch up & thats why i <3 MaxC & u guys! :D

Okay, So you're doing a drive to external to drive backup correct?
If you're transferring system to system a backup is not the best idea.

Your installed applications and so on may not be transferred my best answer is: I don't know.

I think Cyberskunk listed the locations for those files in his sticky, It will depend on if the content needs to be activated before installation as to if it'll actually be useful to you.

It should make the transition anyway.

Nocuddle
11-05-2010, 10:36 PM
I guess im stuck with just normal backup transferring, then re-transfer the games later. I will try look into the sticky after i buy the hdd tomorrow.

thx for the bunch of help matey. :cool: