Wii U Gamepads are also region locked

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gaming News' started by GaryOPA, Dec 26, 2012.

By GaryOPA on Dec 26, 2012 at 1:16 AM
  1. 22,042
    1,928
    113
    GaryOPA

    GaryOPA Master Phoenix Admin Staff Member Top-Dog Brass

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Media:
    57
    Occupation:
    Design Eng.
    Location:
    Tropical Island
    Home Page:
    A step too far?

    [​IMG]

    That's right, it looks like the Wii U Gamepads are also region locked too.
    Not a big issue for most people, but still something 'curious' to note...

    Seems that you can only use Wii U GamePads if they are from the same region as your Wii U.

    As spotted by japanese site Rocket News, you can't use a Japanese GamePad on your North American/European Wii U and viceversa (meaning that it will be useless to import them).

    And, while not a big deal for most people, its still an odd and a bit silly find, don't you think? Also, it would be interesting to hear an official justification of that by Nintendo.

    Take a look at some of the error messages shown when trying to use a GamePad from another region, below!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    NEWS SOURCE #1: Item #279608 (via) RocketNews24
    NEWS SOURCE #2: Uh What Wii-U gamepads are also region locked (via) Destructoid

    Our thanks to 'Gauss' for this news item!
     

Comments

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gaming News' started by GaryOPA, Dec 26, 2012.

    1. 13,385
      963
      113
      billysastard

      billysastard MaxConsole Co-Admin Staff Member Top-Dog Brass

      Joined:
      Aug 24, 2007
      Location:
      West Yorks, UK
      Home Page:
      i couldnt see any reason to do this at all except as an anti-consumer measure to prevent people buying cheaper or 3rd party controllers but then i found out about different regions enforcing different wireless standards in different regions as well as probably different ncf restrictions, i guess its like the newer dect phones, you are not allowed to use the american ones in the eu because they use a different part of the available spectrum, still sucks though if any special edition controller get released.

      oh and you can use the gamepad normally, the restriction only seems to cut in when trying to download a system update so i guess you can use your original gamepad for that.
       
    2. 22,042
      1,928
      113
      GaryOPA

      GaryOPA Master Phoenix Admin Staff Member Top-Dog Brass

      Joined:
      Mar 18, 2006
      Media:
      57
      Occupation:
      Design Eng.
      Location:
      Tropical Island
      Home Page:
      Most likely there is some firmware and os in the gamepad itself, that gets updated during the 'system update' process, so
      the reason it checks the region.

      Which means in the long run, you gamepad imported from the other region might end up being incompatiable if the system update is major and it needs the new functions or features sent to your original gamepad during the system update.

      Well that is just my two cents regarding it, until hackers dig into the firmware update progress and gamepad internals, then we might never know the real reasons behind it, except to attack Nintendo in the media for being anti-consumer.

      But they could have done it better, have a univ. firmware that figures out the region on its own for each section, like the PS3, but Nintendo had this problem with the original Wii, once it was hacked, and people ran discs from PAL region on their USA machine, they would end up with missing icons or messed up system menu, if the disc had an update on it.
       
    3. 26,565
      169
      63
      Xenogears V

      Xenogears V Senior Helper Staff Member Clean-Up Crew

      Joined:
      Dec 28, 2006
      Location:
      Italy Rulez! - Proud To Italian
      Region locked is pure sh*t. I am still waiting for Persona 4 (360 fighting game version). This game is the first Ps3 region locked game in the history.
       
    4. 5,609
      565
      113
      Battlefield

      Battlefield Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Dec 6, 2003
      Location:
      The land of the Vikings
      Home Page:
      Since EU and USA uses different firmwares, its probably why its locked as Gamepad needs update too.
      Its more than just the controller hardware with a screen.
       
    5. 1,629
      13
      38
      GaussTek

      GaussTek Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Oct 27, 2004
      Actually, you could be right. The Destructoid source updated the story with this:



      However, it is still pretty vague. I mean, it doesn't make sense that you can still use it with a different FW, and even less with a lower FW version that the one on your console, right? :/
       
    6. 38
      3
      0
      Ursac

      Ursac Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Sep 19, 2005
      Makes one wonder if the gamepad needs to be hacked as well as the console itself. Hmm I love research.
       
      GaryOPA likes this.
    7. 4,436
      329
      0
      JonathanD

      JonathanD Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Aug 30, 2007
      It could also be some of the remote functions for TV's. Not sure if different regions have different IR codes or not.
       
    8. 13,385
      963
      113
      billysastard

      billysastard MaxConsole Co-Admin Staff Member Top-Dog Brass

      Joined:
      Aug 24, 2007
      Location:
      West Yorks, UK
      Home Page:
      if its region locked of course it needs to be hacked, anything that blocks you from using something you paid for always needs to be hacked.
       
    9. 5,609
      565
      113
      Battlefield

      Battlefield Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Dec 6, 2003
      Location:
      The land of the Vikings
      Home Page:
      It doesent make sense, but for me it wont matter. I would never buy a controller like this outside my country anyway, because of the high tax.
       

Share This Page