hit tracker

3DS/N3DS Gateway Ultra Guide

Discussion in 'Official 'Gateway 3DS' Support Forum' started by SonyUSA, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. 1,642
    186
    0
    makikatze

    makikatze Gateway Kitty [MOD] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Occupation:
    A free cat
    Location:
    In my cat basket
    For emunand on firmware 10.3, you need at least Gateway firmware 3.5. Never use old Gateway versions.
     
  2. 3
    0
    0
    kenvin100

    kenvin100 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Thank you. I was worried as it said "beta" so I thought it was a risk to use. It worked for me.:D
     
  3. 1
    0
    0
    alannnnn

    alannnnn Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Step 1 to 4 works in the N3DS with firmware 9.0? I dont need any game (zelda o ninja) to install gateway?

    I need something else to play my games?
     
  4. 9
    0
    0
    dantesrage

    dantesrage Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    ok i might be thick but i got a new 3ds xl downgraded to 9.2 how do i get my gateway wrking on tat please ive searched for hours and cant find nothing please reply asap many thanks
     
  5. 9
    0
    0
    dantesrage

    dantesrage Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    I got it in with cubic ninja hack and the screen goes purple ly pink what have I don't wrong
     
  6. 17
    0
    0
    LeeAmatsu

    LeeAmatsu Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Need some help with Step 3. Seems like every time I press Boot Gateway Mode, my new 3DS freezes for a few secs, black screens and I have to power it off. It didn't even get to the update screen.

    -WiFi is on
    -microSD on the Red cart was empty (tried pulling it out and ended up with the same results)

    -red cart inserted, launch GW through HBL, cart blinks green, then blue (sometimes only red, or only green) then shows the Gateway logo, black screens, kicks me back to Home screen
    -red cart not inserted, gets into Gateway screen, insert red cart, press on Boot GW Mode, system freezes, black screens until powered off
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2016
  7. 1,642
    186
    0
    makikatze

    makikatze Gateway Kitty [MOD] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Occupation:
    A free cat
    Location:
    In my cat basket
    It boots Gateway mode, you just have to have some roms on your red card and press Select to bring up the multi-rom menu.
     
  8. 25,610
    2,261
    113
    GaryOPA

    GaryOPA Master Phoenix Admin Staff Member Top-Dog Brass

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Media:
    2,271
    Occupation:
    Design Eng.
    Location:
    Tropical Island
    Home Page:
    http://www.O-P-A.biz
    First post has been edited by SonyUSA, with the very old outdated text deleted, and a new link added to the latest official manual.

    Please from now on read the following PDF, before asking your questions if you are new to GW or upgrading from an older GW firmware.

    http://scmods.com/gw_guide/GW-3-7-1.pdf

    Thanks.
     
  9. 4
    0
    0
    praestigia

    praestigia Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Dead link?
     
  10. 25,610
    2,261
    113
    GaryOPA

    GaryOPA Master Phoenix Admin Staff Member Top-Dog Brass

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Media:
    2,271
    Occupation:
    Design Eng.
    Location:
    Tropical Island
    Home Page:
    http://www.O-P-A.biz
  11. 4
    0
    0
    dean29

    dean29 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    It took me 3days to figure this out when I first got my Gateway lol
     
  12. 4
    0
    0
    praestigia

    praestigia Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
  13. 17
    0
    0
    LeeAmatsu

    LeeAmatsu Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    One thing that boggles me is that launching GW through the HBL with the red cart inserted freezes the system; but inserting it after I get to the GW screen works fine. Oh and, does GW mode really boot after I press Select at the Home screen? Seems like 'GW 3DS <firmware>' shows up only when I do before checking Settings.
     
  14. 17
    0
    0
    LeeAmatsu

    LeeAmatsu Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Can the option to get GW to work through the use of GW.3dsx with HBL be added to the list? I don't think Cubic Ninja / Ocarina of Time 3D is always available to everyone.
     
  15. 1,642
    186
    0
    makikatze

    makikatze Gateway Kitty [MOD] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Occupation:
    A free cat
    Location:
    In my cat basket
    It does work and sometimes it freezes. It can also do that when launched through the Gateway menu. I have about 80% boot success rate when launching through Homebrew menu and/or CTRBootManager.

    The Select button only brings up the multi-rom menu for the red card in Gateway mode. Gateway patches the firmware when it loads Gateway mode, not after pressing the Select button. If it doesn't show "GW3D" in front of your version number in the settings menu, you are not in emunand. It's as simple as that :)
     
  16. 17
    0
    0
    LeeAmatsu

    LeeAmatsu Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Ah. I get it now. Thanks a bunch! :D
     
  17. 9
    0
    0
    madriano13

    madriano13 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    The only way to boot up the Gateway mode on n3ds is with the game boot exploit? Or is there any workaround to do without it?
     
  18. 1,642
    186
    0
    makikatze

    makikatze Gateway Kitty [MOD] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Occupation:
    A free cat
    Location:
    In my cat basket
    The latest manual show that the recommended exploit is now Menuhax (installed via browserhax), so no need for a game as an entry point: http://scmods.com/gw_guide/GW-3-7-1.pdf
     
  19. 23
    0
    0
    Malasorte

    Malasorte Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Hi! I followed the guide and did all steps for Menuhax and homebrew launcher.
    Sadly, when i try to enter gateway mode, screen is black.
    Any help?
    I'm running 9.5.2-22e firmware.
     
  20. 1,642
    186
    0
    makikatze

    makikatze Gateway Kitty [MOD] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Occupation:
    A free cat
    Location:
    In my cat basket
    You mean 9.5.0-22E, right? 9.5.2 was never a thing for 3DS consoles :)

    Either way, Gateway currently only supports systems up to 9.2. You will have to wait 1-2 months until Gateway releases a firmware with compatibility up to 10.3.
     

Share This Page