hit tracker

Article: Hackers confirm Sony implemented 'rootkit' in new PS3 firmware

Discussion in 'Archived General Gaming News' started by Zeus, Feb 1, 2011.

1. 11,051
    Zeus

Zeus MaxConsole News Team

Home Page:
    http://www.maxconsole.com
  2. 0
    XstahSie

XstahSie Guest

3. 368
    Wesyeed

Wesyeed Loyal Member

Before jumping to conclusions, how much control does sony have with this thing? Can they totally erase my ps3 files etc... or is it just going to log the drive contents and send it to sony. I figured this was already possible considering people who have the know-how can see what's on your computer anyway.:confused:

4. 6,199
    Retroboy

Retroboy Banned MaxConsole Troll BANNED FOREVER

I sell online ads for a living, but love to compla
    Jolly Old England, The Land of the Trolls
    Home Page:
    http://www.retrojunkies.karoo.net
    lol they wont erase files (tho people will try saying they will) they will simply use it to block your ps3 from going online.

5. 137
    Ravenheart

Ravenheart Loyal Member

Home Page:
    http://www.ravenlabs.org
    This smells of a lawsuit in the works.

6. 156
    CalaMocha

CalaMocha Loyal Member

Studding
    Sony seems to like rootkits, i remember when they used it on CD's to hide the mp3s from the costumer....

7. 7,336
    ThreeDog

ThreeDog Loyal Member

Nintendo uses updates to remove hacks on installation and even provided updates with a higher chance of bricking consoles so why wouldn't Sony take action in more or less the same way?

8. 68
    BloodyJerusalem

BloodyJerusalem Loyal Member

"Math" claimed a lot already in regards to ps3 and hacking. He's not exactly 100% right with his great predictions...so I'll just take them with a large bag of salt. We'll just have to see if that will be enough to prevent "hacked" consoles from going online or not.

9. 3,748
    MadonnaProject

MadonnaProject Loyal Member

so? who needs their ps3 online?

10. 1,952
    CZroe

CZroe Loyal Member