hit tracker

Article: Hackers porting popular codecs to 360, MPEG1 now playable

Discussion in 'Archived General Gaming News' started by Zeus, Apr 3, 2011.

1. 11,051
    Zeus

Zeus MaxConsole News Team

Home Page:
    http://www.maxconsole.com
  2. 122
    somenetdude

somenetdude Loyal Member

Home Page:
    http://
    i like my WDTV media hub plus i wont burn up my 360 watching videos..

3. 254
    iloveme28

iloveme28 Loyal Member

thats why i have a jtagged jasper instead ;)

4. 6,199
    Retroboy

Retroboy Banned MaxConsole Troll BANNED FOREVER

I sell online ads for a living, but love to compla
    Jolly Old England, The Land of the Trolls
    Home Page:
    http://www.retrojunkies.karoo.net
    i loe to see how MS still dont make the 360 or even WINDOWS play media files, you allways have to use other peoples codex to play them.

What makes me laugh with MEDIA player, when it feckin cant play MEDIA, it should be called Windows ONLY player.

5. 449
    osnoozeo

osnoozeo Loyal Member

yea i agree with u on that one, doesn't make any sense, maybe they dont have rights, or copyright ownership of them. not really sure though. prolly y i never even use windows media player.

6. 3,798
    iLLNESS

iLLNESS Loyal Member

HV Industrial Electrician, Mechanic + Emergency Re
    whats hard to understand about that

ms didnt develop real media, so why would they make a codec for it. they also didnt develop divx, or x264, etc etc so why make codecs?

let the people who actually make the format develop the codec.

what your loeing to see is the norm for every operating system out there basically.

what you should loe to see is microsoft preinstall the codecs but that just adds to the trouble. theres a reason operating systems leave it up to the end user to handle codecs.

7. 1,952
    CZroe

CZroe Loyal Member

Security guard and student
    Home Page:
    http://