hit tracker

Bug in EA's Origin allows PC hijacking

Discussion in 'General Undergound Newz' started by GaryOPA, Mar 19, 2013.

By GaryOPA on Mar 19, 2013 at 3:04 PM
  1. 25,335
    2,247
    113
    GaryOPA

    GaryOPA Master Phoenix Admin Staff Member Top-Dog Brass

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Media:
    1,919
    Occupation:
    Design Eng.
    Location:
    Tropical Island
    Home Page:
    http://www.O-P-A.biz
    Millions of people at risk

    [​IMG]

    The exploit, demonstrated on Friday at the Black Hat security conference, takes just a few seconds to execute the malicious code needed

    EA not happy enough with the Sim City's scandal wants to be on top of bad news again, this time with a bug in its Origin gaming platform. An exploit has been found that could put at risk millions os users whose PCs could be hijacked in seconds.

    According to Ars Technica:

    You can access the full story in the link below.

    NEWS SOURCE: Bug on EAs Origin game platform allows attackers to hijack player PCs (via) ArsTechnica

    Our thanks to 'Kaos2K' for this news item!
     

Comments

Discussion in 'General Undergound Newz' started by GaryOPA, Mar 19, 2013.

    1. 5,605
      562
      113
      Battlefield

      Battlefield Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Dec 6, 2003
      Location:
      The land of the Vikings
      Home Page:
      http://
      Not only these things, but the top of the cake.. Nominated as the worst company again.

      Its good that EA get so much bad publicity, because they deserve it. ;)
      Maybe the new boss know how to turn EA to a good company.
       
    2. 814
      10
      18
      dwrecording

      dwrecording Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Feb 1, 2007
      Reason #200 why i use 360 and PS3. PC gaming is great but to much crap to setup and keep working. I like to pop in disc and play.
       
    3. 13,435
      958
      113
      billysastard

      billysastard MaxConsole Co-Admin Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Aug 24, 2007
      Location:
      West Yorks, UK
      Home Page:
      http://www.maxconsole.com
      i used to enjoy that but now i pop in the disc, wait for it to install, enter the pre order codes, enter the paywall code, enter the included content code and then finally play, but i'm the only one who can since no family members can play on their accounts.

      (ps, i dont actually use any codes as i believe we should all get the same crippled experience from a game the greedy scum publishers intended and obviously when it comes to anything with an online pass / paywall then i'd never even consider buying new).
       
    4. 5,605
      562
      113
      Battlefield

      Battlefield Loyal Member

      Joined:
      Dec 6, 2003
      Location:
      The land of the Vikings
      Home Page:
      http://
      Sad, but true. I think its easier to use PC these days, than a console.

      Lets take PS3 as an example. Takes ages to get in game because that console have the damn mandatory installs as a bonus. Thanks to Sony for using a shitty Blu-Ray drive.

      1.) Mandatory install of 5.GB +/-
      2.) Download day 1 patch.. Up to several 100.GB
      3.) Enter online pass code
      4.) Pre-order code
      5.) Enter unlock code for ingame skins/weapons

      Is this PlugNPlay? No way!

      On PC.. Install, write serial and then play.
      On Steam.. Only download and play.
      Its "f*cked up when its easier to boot up a game on PC than a console these days.

      No wonder the PC market have increased the recent years, because console games stinks.
      Thanks to Wii U, we get DLC etc.. on Disc and no code shit!
       

Share This Page