hit tracker

[FIX] USB SELF POWERED - By Alfredo Guilenea

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Alfredo Guilenea, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. 7
    0
    0
    VinT_BLR

    VinT_BLR Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    I made a fix by your manual. Then I disassemble console and damage this capacitor. But I already fixed, its capacity is likely 10 uF(micro Farad), but I put it on 5 uF, and everything works fine. Thanks again for your manual
     
  2. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal
    Im glad that my fix did work for you.
    And also your other problem!!
     
  3. 1
    0
    0
    load1080

    load1080 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    HOLA, este fix funciona con cobra ode 5.10b o no es necesario hacer esto, con la actualizaciĆ³n mcu 2.1 ?
     
  4. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal
    No deberia ser necesario para las 5.10. Instale como 15 5.10b con varios discos y ninguna fallo
     
  5. 31
    1
    8
    zeruel85

    zeruel85 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Hi Alfredo. Today I installed a 05.10B in a 4k 4.55 and after few attempts, I have the same problem that you describe in the first post. So I think that also 05.10Bs are affected by the same problem.

    In your opinion, can I solve my problem with your fix?

    Thank you.

    Link to my problem:
    http://www.maxconsole.com/maxcon_fo...10B-(v2-0)-on-a-4k-4-55?p=1696241#post1696241
     
  6. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal

    I read your post and you have a diferent problem.
    If you want to discard if your problem comes from the power line.

    Open the ps3 and remove the power connector of the cobra board.
    Then use a usb charger. 5v 2Amps and connect the usb cable to the mini usb of the cobra usb board.
     
  7. 31
    1
    8
    zeruel85

    zeruel85 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Sorry, but I don't understand why you think that my problem is different from yours.

    I saw the two videos that you posted in the first post, the behaviour of my 4k is exactly the same as yours. The console starts, but after few seconds, it suddenly shuts down with no leds at all.
     
  8. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal
    You start with another problem.
    And its the first time i see a 5.10 board with that problem.
    I install like 20 of the 5.10 boards and i did not need to use my fix.
    First try what i told you on the other post.
    If your problem got solved then make the mod.
    Or try run a game with a thumb drive or a usb hdd with external power

    Its better to check first if the problem is that. Because is more simple that make all the mod for nothing
     
  9. 31
    1
    8
    zeruel85

    zeruel85 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Ok thank you.
     
  10. 3
    0
    0
    gLeW

    gLeW Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Location:
    Argentina
    Excelent Alfredo
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2014
  11. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal
    did you resolve your problem?
    sorry i was unable to answer i was on a road trip
     
  12. 23
    0
    1
    chaos014

    chaos014 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    thanksssssssssssss ALOT
     
  13. 38
    2
    8
    carnby24

    carnby24 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Hi,

    I am wondering, can i just solder the indcutor and not use the cable from the front usb?
    I dont want to open up the ps3.
    So instead can i just use the external usb wall power supply and connect it to the cobra back pcb?

    Thanks in advance.

    carnby
     
  14. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal
    i think you can do that


    or also you can solder a usb cable to the inductor and plug to the wall charger or the ps3 front port
     
  15. 38
    2
    8
    carnby24

    carnby24 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Yes ..i did think of that. but that would make my ps3 messy wouldnt it....
    Thanks for your advise...will solder them tomorrow...
     
  16. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal
    if you dont want your ps3 to get messy, its better to solder the cable from the usb front port.

    the other 3 options are going to be messy anyway
     
  17. 38
    2
    8
    carnby24

    carnby24 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Hi Alfredo,

    I have all the tools and components needed.
    Do you have to remove the smt or i just leave it there and connect the inductor?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  18. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal
    You dont need to remove it.
     
  19. 35
    1
    8
    Troop116rules

    Troop116rules Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Just wanted to share that I did find a way (at least for my 2101b console) to not need to use this guide or solder anything (not even open the PS3). I am not sure if this will work for everyone. Details can be found here. This will, however, require a USB 2.0 HDD and a USB 3.0 HDD.
     
  20. 312
    42
    0
    Alfredo Guilenea

    Alfredo Guilenea <b>Ferrari's Engineer</b><br /><i>MaxConsole Spani Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Location:
    Argentina - Capital Federal
    is not the same issue.

    this solves the problem of noise and because of that, the ps3 shutdowns itself because its autoprotects
     

Share This Page