hit tracker

How to Softmod you XBOX [Full Tutorial]

Discussion in 'Xbox Retro Hacking / Mods & General Discussion' started by [email protected], Dec 10, 2005.

  1. 1,401
    0
    36
    realg187

    realg187 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Occupation:
    Gangsta!!
    Location:
    By my Gat and PSP
    Home Page:
    http://geocities.com/gamesharkmike
    So you basically hook up the Xbox hard drive to computer and since PC is an open system you can install Linux to Xbox?

    Does this void warranty? I use a Laptop and my desktop is only P3 (and I have two Pentium MMX, will that be enough, uness there is a USB2IDE and I can boot the disk made from linux.iso in a VM..

    i dont have an xobx but if it can be softmodded then I might get one.

    I know PSP can be softmodded. Thats why I love PSP, I am lucky that I the tech guy at school used flash carts so I got a super card for NDS shortly after!

    And I am getting USB Extreme by COD (its hard as I am under 18 and dont have a credit card!):

    http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=86202
     
  2. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    ok, i have no idea what the hell linux has to do with any of this, i have never used it, and have no idea how to use on xbox. this can install dashboard like evox, xbmc, avalaunch, etc.. read the tutorial, it explains wut it does
     
  3. 1,401
    0
    36
    realg187

    realg187 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Occupation:
    Gangsta!!
    Location:
    By my Gat and PSP
    Home Page:
    http://geocities.com/gamesharkmike
    Point 11 says linux.iso
     
  4. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    thats just the file you mount to a disc to run at computer startup?
     
  5. 1,401
    0
    36
    realg187

    realg187 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Occupation:
    Gangsta!!
    Location:
    By my Gat and PSP
    Home Page:
    http://geocities.com/gamesharkmike
    it must contain some version of linux!
     
  6. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    omg.... they used linux to make a bootable program to create the xbox hd. LINUX DOES NOT go into the xbox in any way/shape/form/ or fashion. ok?
     
  7. 1,401
    0
    36
    realg187

    realg187 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Occupation:
    Gangsta!!
    Location:
    By my Gat and PSP
    Home Page:
    http://geocities.com/gamesharkmike
    Okay so linux is started on the PC and used to change the Xbox. I guess you couldnt windows as there are different PCs and drivers etc.
     
  8. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    alright, u WILL need windows to make the linux.iso file so windows IS required. the linux disc is a very tiny linux that is built around hacking the xbox and modifying the hard drive. the fact that linux is used on the boot up disc is COMPLETELY irrelevant to anything
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2011
  9. 1,401
    0
    36
    realg187

    realg187 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Occupation:
    Gangsta!!
    Location:
    By my Gat and PSP
    Home Page:
    http://geocities.com/gamesharkmike
    Have you ever used Linux? no, I have I know what I doing. Linux can burn ISO too:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BurningIsoHowto

    When I said you cant use Windows I mean to apply the hacks not burn the disk.
     
  10. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    windows is required. end of story. u cannot run the command for building the linux.iso file that im aware of. you are correct, u can burn the .iso with linux, but how would u get the file if u have linux? stay on topic, everything ur saying is irrelevant again
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2011
  11. 1,401
    0
    36
    realg187

    realg187 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Occupation:
    Gangsta!!
    Location:
    By my Gat and PSP
    Home Page:
    http://geocities.com/gamesharkmike
    You are obviously a Linuix n00b, Linux can burn ISO and extract files, I never said that this was for linux. Maybe some files are EXE, Linux can run some EXE, it probably can be done by an other method, you are going on...
     
  12. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    wasting time. has nothing to do with this thread.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2011
  13. 1,401
    0
    36
    realg187

    realg187 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Occupation:
    Gangsta!!
    Location:
    By my Gat and PSP
    Home Page:
    http://geocities.com/gamesharkmike
    We'll have to agree to disagree.

    I dunno how this started, but I was just saying how Linux is used in the process when you boot the cd made from linux.iso.

    You can Linux can burn ISO and Unrar, it can. I dunno about anything else, if all you need to do is unrar and burn ISO then it can be done, if it looks more complicated than that.
     
  14. 0
    0
    0
    NorthBayVallejo

    NorthBayVallejo Guest

    28.- Now another menu should come up. Type 1 and press enter.


    i hit 1 and it says invalid choice, help please
     
  15. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    then u didnt create the disc correctly. try again, that disc is garbage.
     
  16. 20
    0
    0
    Mnet99

    Mnet99 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    actually you can run linux on a softmodded xbox, i read about it. You can have firefox on linux on your xbox and everything, go on youtube and stuff...
     
  17. 20
    0
    0
    Mnet99

    Mnet99 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Your tuts kinda complicated man....
     
  18. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    this thread is not about linux. if u have any problems email me [email protected] and i will gladly walk you through hacking your xbox.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2011
  19. 24
    0
    0
    ProjectNemesis

    ProjectNemesis Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    where do i find my xboxusername , xboxpassword and xboxipaddress?? after a half hour i finally got the damn thing connected but i dont know where to get that info. im trying to mod the bastard without opening it.
     
  20. 248
    0
    16
    h@Ck3R

    [email protected] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    haha by default the xbox username and password is xbox. the xbox ip address is 192.168.0.2 by default i THINK. u have to set it in the xbox. BUT if ur dashboard is XBMC then it should automatically set. You can view your ip address in settings somewhere, depends on ur skin
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2011

Share This Page