hit tracker

multiMAN and DVD-Video Region Free compatibility

Discussion in 'Unofficial multiMAN Support Forum' started by Vampirtc, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. 14
    0
    0
    Vampirtc

    Vampirtc Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    I have been trying to play other region movies on my PS3 but can't find a way. I have Rogero 4.30 installed and tried xregistry but doesn't work.
    Does Multiman or Showtime player provide any solution? Maybe just ripping DVD to internal HDD and removing region lock?
     
  2. 1,107
    5
    0
    deank

    deank multiMAN Developer Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Home Page:
    http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/
    If you rip the movie and remove the encryption/region-protection and burn to a DVD-R then you can play it with the PS3's video player directly from the Video column. You can also create an ISO and play it with Showtime.

    The region lock is stored in VIDEO_TS.IFO file at offset 34/35. I have an idea and will try to test it later and will come back to you. Sadly I have no region-locked DVDs to test with, but I'll try to 'lock' them. If it works I'll add it to mM. :)

    Dean

    :) Well I have success in locking my region free DVDs :)

    When I try to start the DVD it says:

    This disc cannot be played.
    The region code is not correct.


    Is this the message you get when you try to play the movie?

    Well, anyway... I added some stuff to multiMAN. You can update online (use L2+R2 while starting multiMAN to get in "Debug" mode and then update).

    1) Start the PS3
    2) Start multiMAN
    3) Make sure that "HERMES" option is selected in Settings -> "BD-ROM Emulator" (if not - select it and restart the PS3)
    4) Load the DVD Video disc (if all is ok it will be ejected and re-inserted)
    5) Go to the "Video" column and start it
    6) If mM detects a Region Lock you will see some prompts on screen
    7) Try to play the disc from the PS3's Video column

    You can additionally select BD/DVD Movie Region option in Settings to match your DVD movie region.

    Also in this version I fixed the AVCHD/DVD/BD duplicates which appeared in the Video column.
     
  3. 7
    0
    0
    psicotron3

    psicotron3 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    It didn´t work for me.

    I tried an Region 4 DVD (MEX/Brazil) on a American PS3 with Rogero 4.30 v2.03.

    All went fine until step 7, but the error message on XMB was tha same as before (the one you posted before).

    Tried again change the option "BDMV Region" to MEX. Same Result.

    On the message multiman asked it I want to use the temporary patch it show´s "Region: 0xF7"

     
  4. 1,107
    5
    0
    deank

    deank multiMAN Developer Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Home Page:
    http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/
    Do you see the message right after you click the DVD icon or the PS3 thinks a bit, goes to black screen and then returns?

    Can you .zip all .IFO/.BUP files from the VIDEO_TS folder and attach the file here?
     
  5. 7
    0
    0
    psicotron3

    psicotron3 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    The PS3 goes to black screen and then returns. I actually thought it was going to work, because of the black screen and the spinning clock at the right corner.

    Attached the ifo and bup files, copied straight from DVD, as you asked.

     
  6. 1,107
    5
    0
    deank

    deank multiMAN Developer Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Home Page:
    http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/
    The black screen and the spinning clock means we're half the way there... :)

    Can you repeat the test from yesterday, but 1st update mM online (with L2+R2) and then proceed with the following changes:


    1) Start the PS3
    2) Start multiMAN
    3) Make sure that "HERMES" option is selected in Settings -> "BD-ROM Emulator" (if not - select it and restart the PS3)

    4) Make sure "BD Movie Disc Region" is set to "Default"
    5) Make sure "DVD Movie Disc Region" is set to "Region 4 (MEX)"


    6) Load the DVD Video disc (if all is ok it will be ejected and re-inserted)
    7) Go to the "Video" column and start it
    8) If mM detects a Region Lock you will see some prompts on screen
    9) Try to play the disc from the PS3's Video column

    If it fails, try to enable "BD Movie Disc Region" option too.

    Dean
     
  7. 4,102
    292
    83
    gDrive

    gDrive Not Your Mommas Tranny Clean-Up Crew

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Home Page:
    http://techbliss.org
    Well, here's my test results whilst playing around with the experimental DVD Movie test release of multiREGIONAL multiMAN :p

    Model Number/HDD Size/PS3 Region:
    CECH-2503B, 320GB, UK (TargetID Code: 87)

    multiMAN version:
    04.18.00_DVDREGIONTESTRELEASE

    Movies Tested:
    The Hangover: Part 2

    Movie DVD Type:
    Burned to DVD+RW - repacked to DVD5 using DVDShrink, and forced the Region Lock to Region Code #1

    Test Result:
    Played successfully on my PS3 without issues, but playing it via the XMB wouldn't simply work.

    Additional Notes:
    I also attempted to play the burned DVD on my PC, and whilst it worked when using AnyDVDHD, when the application was disabled, the burned DVD CANNOT be played at all.

    Photos:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  8. 1,107
    5
    0
    deank

    deank multiMAN Developer Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Home Page:
    http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/
    Really nice, gDrive! Thanks for the tests and reporting back!

    If I get one more report (with original untouched region-locked DVD) I'll release a new mM with the proper support.
     
  9. 7
    0
    0
    psicotron3

    psicotron3 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Tested again and it din´t work with retail, original Region 4 DVD. Tried both tests with two differents dvds.

    First the test with "BD Movie Disc Region" = default and "DVD Movie Disc Region" = "Region 4 (MEX)" resulted in black screen, spinning clock and after sometime the region error.

    Then, with "BD Movie Disc Region" = MEX and "DVD Movie Disc Region" = "Region 4 (MEX)" the region error message appeared immediately (without black screen before) .

    Also, I wans´t able to open the DVD inside multiman like gDrive posted. The "BD/DVD" blue icon shows "There are no Titles" when selected.



     
  10. 2
    0
    0
    FelipeMartins91

    FelipeMartins91 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Hi Deank.

    Tried to test, but everything happens like psicotron3 says.

    I got the same result as him.

    I got Dvd 4 region too.

    Thanks.
     
  11. 1,107
    5
    0
    deank

    deank multiMAN Developer Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Home Page:
    http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/
    The DVD should be listed in multiMAN's video column with a DVD icon. The blue BD/DVD is for browsing the contents of a disc, but below you should have the icon. Try to load it from that icon.

    Also I suspect that Region 4 DVD discs are in PAL format and even if the disc has the protection removed it won't play in NTSC players (like a US PS3).

    On the other hand, me and gDrive we have PAL PS3s and they are capable of playing NTSC content (like DVD Region 1).
     
  12. 7
    0
    0
    psicotron3

    psicotron3 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    I loaded the disc from the DVD icon (yellow) on all the tests I made.

    I just commented that loading the disc from the blue icon didn´t work too.

    The standard in Brasil for DVD is NTSC.

    The other color system we use here is PAL-M, but only for video tapes an analog broadcast (and anyway it´s incompatible with Europe PAL).
     
  13. 1,107
    5
    0
    deank

    deank multiMAN Developer Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Home Page:
    http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/
    I'm looking for another tester with a PAL (European) PS3 to test locked DVD movie discs from Region 1 or 3-4-5-6.

    If someone can help with the tests - let me know and post here.
     
  14. 1
    0
    0
    makaron090

    makaron090 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013

    Model Number/HDD Size/PS3 Region:
    PS3 (Phat) CECH-K04, 60GB, EU

    multiMAN version:
    04.18.00_DVDREGIONTESTRELEASE

    Firmware version:
    Rogero CEX-4.30 v2.03

    Movies Tested:
    The Dark Knight Rises - Region 2 PAL (Original)
    Ultimate Edition Stargate - Region 1 US (Original)

    Test Result:

    HERMES option is selected in Settings -> "BD-ROM Emulator"
    BD Movie Disc Region is set to "Default"
    DVD Movie Disc Region is set to "Default"

    Played via the XMB The Dark Knight Rises - Region 2 PAL (Original) – OK
    View attachment 3642

    Played via the XMB Ultimate Edition Stargate - Region 1 US (Original) – This disc cannot be played. The region code is not correct.
    View attachment 3643


    Played via the MM The Dark Knight Rises - Region 2 PAL (Original)
    START MM – Data BD/DVD/CD disc detected in tray – configuring, please wait.....
    View attachment 3644

    [DVD] DARK KNIGHT RISES => X
    View attachment 3645

    This DVD Video Disc is Region Locked.Proced with temporary unlock? Region code 0xE5 => Yes
    View attachment 3646

    Automatic Returned to XMB – Played OK


    Played via the MM Ultimate Edition Stargate - Region 1 US (Original)
    START MM – Data BD/DVD/CD disc detected in tray – configuring, please wait.....
    View attachment 3644

    [DVD] STAREGATE ULTIMATE EDITION => X
    View attachment 3647

    This DVD Video Disc is Region Locked.Proced with temporary unlock? Region code 0xFE => Yes
    View attachment 3648

    Automatic Returned to XMB – his disc cannot be played. The region code is not correct.
    View attachment 3649

    HERMES option is selected in Settings -> "BD-ROM Emulator"
    BD Movie Disc Region is set to "Region A (USA/CAN)"
    DVD Movie Disc Region is set to "Region 1 (USA/CAN)"

    THE SAME RESAULTS

    HERMES option is selected in Settings -> "BD-ROM Emulator"
    BD Movie Disc Region is set to "Default"
    DVD Movie Disc Region is set to "Region 1 (USA/CAN)"

    THE SAME RESAULTS


    Photos:
    View attachment 3650
     
  15. 14
    0
    0
    Vampirtc

    Vampirtc Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Above post was mine, I forgot my password and I created a new account. Any luck with region free Multiman? :)
     
  16. 6
    0
    0
    Kuroki

    Kuroki Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Hello! Cant understand how to change DVD movie region. I need to change region 5 to region 2. Tried to edit xregistry.sys, but now result.
    Using your method (I am on rogero 4.40/multiman 4.40) cant find Hermes option in BD rom emulator, it only has disable/enable. And cant find DVD Movie Disc Region setting, I can see only BD Movie region setting.
    Thank you!
     
  17. 2
    0
    0
    ravman77

    ravman77 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    I've posted a similar message to Kuroki elsewhere.

    I don't have the option to select Hermes as an option, only disable/enable and there is no DVD movie region setting.
    (Rogero 4.41/MM4.40).

    Any thoughts out there on why region changing on blu ray isn't working?
     
  18. 99
    0
    0
    traube

    traube Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    @ Kuroki

    In xRegistry.sys you have to edit the last digit of the value at "/setting/bddvd/dvdRegionCode" as you probably did.
    And you also have to change the last digit at "/setting/bddvd/dvdTvSystem" to 0 (NTSC) or 2 (PAL).
     
  19. 6
    0
    0
    Kuroki

    Kuroki Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    I did both of it, but it didb't help me. My friend think that Disable_Cinavia_355.pkg can help.
     
  20. 99
    0
    0
    traube

    traube Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    As far as I know, if you have the original DVD Cinavia shouldn't do anything. What exactly is happening when you start the DVD?
     

Share This Page