hit tracker

[Solved] Downgrade fatal error 0001001

Discussion in 'Official 'Gateway 3DS' Support Forum' started by grimreepah, Feb 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Hey guys

    I've got a red original 3ds bought it brand new.

    I wanted to downgrade it to 4.5 prior to getting my gateway.

    I had 6.1.0-4e on it and tried to downgrade with the eur .dg pack.. All I got was the fatal error. I was able to restore the nand I backed up

    I tried to update it with a cartridge update of 7.2.0-4e on Pokemon alpha sapphire. Same problem when downgrading.

    I don't think I've ever updated it through wifi (I think this may be the problem)

    I've noticed a few other posters have had similar problems, but no fix as of yet.

    If you need any more info, feel free to ask!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2015
  2. 254
    24
    0
    laramie14

    laramie14 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Occupation:
    Daycare Aide
    Location:
    Colorado
    Stupid question, but your console is a Europe one right?
     
  3. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Haha, yes it is indeed.
     
  4. 254
    24
    0
    laramie14

    laramie14 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Occupation:
    Daycare Aide
    Location:
    Colorado
    How bigs your SD card?
     
  5. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    16gb. I originally tried it with the 2gb that it came with. Was the first thing I tried after it didn't work!
     
  6. 254
    24
    0
    laramie14

    laramie14 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Occupation:
    Daycare Aide
    Location:
    Colorado
    Do you happen to have a hard NAND mod?
     
  7. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    I do not. Not as of yet. I have the tools to do one, if the worst comes to the worst.
     
  8. 254
    24
    0
    laramie14

    laramie14 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Occupation:
    Daycare Aide
    Location:
    Colorado
    AWESOME!! thats leaves two choices then.

    1. Try to downgrade and when it messes up, you can instead of restoring your NAND backup, you can turn off
    the 3ds and take a look at the error code. (This will tell you exactly why it's failing.)

    2. You can downgrade and fail again, but instead run the Diagnostics with the gateway in the menu, and
    hopefully it will give you the same results as the first one.

    Once we crack down why you're getting the error from that, we can take the next step. :)
     
  9. 317
    26
    0
    hto60

    hto60 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Location:
    Picardy, France
    The restore is automated. They SHOULD NOT try to turn off their 3DS during the process.
    Have you checked the dgpack md5? Have you tried to download it again?
     
  10. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Okay, bizarre.

    Did the downgrade and it failed again with a fatal error on 7/7.

    Booted it back up and no error message, loaded into the menu screen. Checked settings and it is on 7.2.0-8e. Emphasis on the 8. It WAS 4.

    Just going to try downgrade again and try the diagnostics.
     
  11. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    I have tried the 3 mirrors and checked the md5. All match.
     
  12. 254
    24
    0
    laramie14

    laramie14 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Occupation:
    Daycare Aide
    Location:
    Colorado
    First off, it sates that you should ONLY DO THIS if you HAVE A HARD NAND MOD, and second, if he has
    a hard nand mod, then it wouldn't matter if he powered off at the end or in the middle, he has a NAND
    backup anyways. Plus if he has a Raspberry pi, then he can even unbrick the 3ds. Even if by some miracle
    he loses his NAND it's still possible to pull a nand off of a bricked 3ds.
     
  13. 254
    24
    0
    laramie14

    laramie14 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Occupation:
    Daycare Aide
    Location:
    Colorado
    So wait, it updated from 4 to 8?...
     
  14. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    That's what it looks like. This is why I am assuming it MUST be to do with the never updating via wifi. Only ever game updates.

    So it must be looking for certain firmwares, then downgrading. With me switching it off without restoring nand, it must be picking up that update?

    Just tried to downgrade again, same fatal error.
     
  15. 254
    24
    0
    laramie14

    laramie14 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Occupation:
    Daycare Aide
    Location:
    Colorado
    Hmm. Well I'll be darned! I've never even heard of trying to downgrade but updating 0.0.0.4 from the NAND
    you started at. I'll have to figure that one out. For now, did the Diagnostics screen tell you anything?
     
  16. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Diagnostics just tells me the diagnostics of the GAteway card. All fail.
     
  17. 317
    26
    0
    hto60

    hto60 Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Location:
    Picardy, France
    But you should never try to "force" a brick, if you know what I mean.
    Some bricks can't be undone easily like the Omega 2.1 brick.
    You never know what's gonna happen.
     
  18. 1,642
    186
    0
    makikatze

    makikatze Gateway Kitty [MOD] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Occupation:
    A free cat
    Location:
    In my cat basket
    Just to make sure: Do you have a real Gateway card or do you have a fake one?
    real_vs_fake_1.jpg
     
  19. 16
    1
    0
    grimreepah

    grimreepah Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    I do have a real one, but unsure of why it affects me at this moment, as I am just using the 3DS and SD card to try downgrade it to 4.5 before I started to use the Gateway.
     
  20. 1,642
    186
    0
    makikatze

    makikatze Gateway Kitty [MOD] Loyal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Occupation:
    A free cat
    Location:
    In my cat basket
    Well, if the downgrade pack has the right checksum, has the right region (EUR) and is placed directly onto the SD card right next to the Launcher.dat, I cannot think of other problem sources atm :/

    Your sd card is big enough, even the Gateway card is real... It could be a problem of using an old browser version (-4E or -8E in your version number), but I am unsure about this, too.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page